Building Inspections

5920 Tahoe Dr. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546-7123
OFFICE HOURS
7am - 4pm - Monday - Thursday
7am - 1pm - Friday

INSPECTOR HOURS
By Appointment Only

Notice:  Applications for OUTDOOR WOOD BURNING FURNACES (mechanical permit) must obtain zoning approval from the local community prior to installation.


All new permit applications must receive zoning approval from the community where the project is located.  Inspection requests for existing (open) permits can be made directly to Cascade Inspections.  


Inspection requests can be made via the online portal, by phone, or by texting 616-240-4693.
Make sure to include your name, contractor, and contact phone number in the text as well as the address of the inspection, how the inspector will access it, date requested for inspection, and the type of inspection needed (eg. plbg/rough, bldg/footing, or elec/service).

Phone requests are still available by leaving a message at 949-3765 (press 1 at any time during announcement)


Auto Attendant Directory 616-949-3765 (enter 3 digit ext at any time during announcement to be transferred to staff)

Inspector   Title Email Address Ext
brianwilson2.jpg Brian Wilson Building Official bwilson@cascadetwp.com 311
BillBenoit.JPG Bill Benoit Deputy Building Official bbenoit@cascadetwp.com 321
Dennis-Rowlader.jpg Dennis Rowlander Building Inspector drowlader@cascadetwp.com 313
RonSabin.JPG Ron Sabin

Commercial Plan
Reviewer

ronsabin@cascadetwp.com 314
Hanson-(002).jpg Tom Hanson Building Inspector/
Plan Reviewer
thanson@cascadetwp.com 325
VinceMilito.JPG Vince Milito Chief Mech/
Plumb Inspector
vmilito@cascadetwp.com 323
Jeff-VanTil3.jpg Jeff Vantil Mech/Plumb Inspector jvantil@cascadetwp.com 312
Craig-Smith(2).jpg Craig Smith Plumbing Inspector csmith@cascadetwp.com 335
DanHuyser.JPG Dan Huyser Chief Electrical Inspector dhuyser@cascadetwp.com 322
Paul-Westhouse(2edit).jpg Paul Westhouse Electrical Inspector pwesthouse@cascadetwp.com 336
Todd-Pell2-(2).jpg Todd Pell Fire Protection Inspector tpell@cascadetwp.com 332
JulieKutchins.jpg Julie Kutchins Permits Manager juliek@cascadetwp.com 333
CarolMeyer.jpg Carol Meyer Admin Assistant cmeyer@cascadetwp.com 315

*New* Remote Video Inspection Program

Submit Video for Furnace or Water Heater Replacement


The goal of the Building Inspection Department is to protect the Health, Safety and Welfare of our citizens through professional enforcement of the Michigan Building Codes. Cascade Township has a full time staff of nine inspectors and two clerical employees. They review all plans, issue permits and inspect and maintain records on all construction projects. Our inspectors are all registered by the State of Michigan in one or more of the building trades as well as plan review.

In addition to the above, we also issue permits to connect to the water and/or sewer system in Cascade Charter Township.

Cascade’s Building Department is somewhat unique in that we issue permits and make inspections for other communities on a contractual basis. Those other communities include Grand Rapids Township, Lowell Township, Ada Township, Vergennes Township, Plainfield Township and the City of East Grand Rapids. 


Please follow Cascade Township on Vimeo for helpful building inspection video resources and tips.


PDF Icon Contractor Registration - For faster processing, please send this form with a copy of your license.  We will contact you regarding payment.  


Customer Survey

New Home ConstructionNew Home